How I wish my love life was a Bruno Mars Song

I have said many a time that I do my best thinking while driving. So it was no surprise that in driving my beloved Sea-to-Sky today and a  Bruno Mars song was followed by Taylor Swift, that I had a day dream that one day my life would be like a Bruno Mars song instead of the teenage drama equivalent of TS  (though she does evidently date a lot which is an attractive by-product).

Bruno belts out ballads like:

Treasure “Treasure, that is what you are. Honey, you’re my golden star”

Locked out of Heaven “‘Cause you make feel like I’ve been locked out of heaven”

 

Just the way you are “When you smile, the whole world stops and stares for awhile Cause girl you’re amazing, just the way you are”

Marry Me “Hey baby, I think I wanna marry you.”

And I recognize the selfish pettiness in this but even with his heart break songs I imagine someone loving me SO hard that they would be that hurt to lose me.  Like:

Grenade “I’d catch a grenade for you..

When I was your Man “Do all the things I should’ve done when I was your man”

It Will Rain “If you ever leave me baby, Leave some morphine at my door”

But alas I sat back in the black leather and recognized that instead it is Trouble Trouble Trouble.

Until I got the most unexpected text from the most unsuspecting company readying “You are persistent….. Might be why you are so successful at all you do.”   In that moment like a slap in the face from the wind of the open window I saw myself possibly for the first time ever through someone else’s eyes.  Yes, our friends and family say powerful things that you take to heart… with a grain of salt. But when someone you label as “quite possibly may loathe you” says something like that you listen.

I am persistant.

I am successful.

Reassuring reminder that I shall have my Bruno Mars moment too.

Leave a comment